top of page

Affinity Space Update. Or, "How many times can Jen successfully lock herself out of her own acc

I made a Minecraft EDU lesson plat! Or at least, I started one.

Learning anything new can be difficult. When we're two, learning to feed ourselves is hard. When we're nine, taking of our training wheels and trying out our bike flying so is hard. When you're first learning to drive, and you don't even know what you don't know, it's hard.

Learning new software is no different.

I recently started creating a lesson on Minecraft EDU for my kids. I figured I could chat with other people about their experience, but hearing something second hand and experiencing it yourself are two different, and uniquely interesting things. I am proud to say I am now the proud designer of a Safe Camping Lesson...which is entirely non-functional.

A little context. My kiddos are learning all about camping right now in their 4-H Outdoor Skills unit (appropriate clothing/footwear, the fire triangle, camping nutrition, shelter-building, etc.) It's all very STEM oriented, and it's great fun. As an add-on lesson, I decided to build a "safe camping zone" in Minecraft, implementing what the kids have already learned into a physical landscape. It looks great on my end, but of course the challenge now is to get it to a downloadable version for everyone else. I'm off the learn how to do that now. Will probably hop over to Twitter to see if anyone has any tips! I've also somehow locked myself out of my account, so we're about to find out how quickly their account managers are. Wish me luck!!

Me. Always.

bottom of page