top of page

Welcome to Learning with Digital Stories! or "What is a Digital Story? Is this Snapchat? Where

I've always loved telling stories. My go-to was always the one about how my mom dressed us all (herself, my sister, brother, dad and I) in identical, red-checked plaid shirts, jeans and cowboy boots. We looked like the members of a Christian Cowboy Rock Band. My mom always dressed us up matching for her anniversary, and so afterwards, of course, we went to Texas Roadhouse. My aunt then informed the waitstaff that we really WERE a Christian Cowboy Band. Hijinx ensued.

We tell stories, I think, because telling a story is a direct interaction with another human, in which success is defined by eliciting a reaction from that person. Whether a laugh, a gasp, or a tear. A good story is like a good meal--it satisfies, comforts, and begs to be told over drinks. This semester, I hope I can stretch my definition of a "story", and become a better teller, and learner, in the process.

This week, I created the following "stories":

An introduction of myself in Flipgrid: (A new media I didn't know existed until now)

Two Daily Creates (An ingenious way to think outside the box every day)

A Challenge: (which I did early, oops. Call me enthusiastic)

Along with annotating in hypothes.is, and becoming more familiar with my Lannister House Mates.

No Lannisters were harmed in the making of this post.

This week I learned quite a bit about manipulating images in Microsoft Word (one of my most favorite programs ever) as well as using Flipgrid's mobile app, which made the creation of my introduction video much easier. Though I didn't have the opportunity to interact with any classmates in any significant way yet, I did enjoy using the #inte5340 to watch as new creations came in. I look forward to using this feature, and interacting with more classmates, as time goes on.

Until next time...

bottom of page