top of page

Module 6: Remix Culture or, "WAKA WAKA REMIX!" (and then the beat drops)

This week we had the opportunity to learn about Remix Culture. Living in the time we are now, remixing has become as natural as breathing. Memes, digital remakes, Photoshop and satire news is as common an internet fodder as just about anything else. What surprised me this week was the concept that Remixing is more than just digital. The idea that remixing can happen (and has happened) since the beginning was an interested take I hadn't considered before. For example, taking a literary story and speaking about it, dictating how it reflects or is similar to your own experience is, in its essence, a remix. I look forward to seeing and recognizing remixes in the future, now knowing how common they are!

This week, my learning was more connective than before. For example, In our hypothes.is annotating, I made connections to articles I had read in the past, including one about Mickey Mouse and copyright, as well as a case settled over Obama's world-famous HOPE poster. I hadn't thought about these cases in years, but this week's readings really made these connections register.

Most importantly, this weeks module got me thinking about my own interactions with every-day digital copyright, and how (in many ways) I have made copyright mistakes and infringements myself. It is obvious that lawmakers need to engage with common sense copyright law, that don't require a law degree to understand, and that don't harm creative engagement with pre-made medias. As a creative person myself, I know I benefit from "standing on the shoulders of giants", and I too want to contribute to the greater benefit of humanity in my own small way.

This week I completed the REMIX a Classmate assignment (twice, oops), which you can find here:

I also completed the following Daily Creates, which you can find here:

Finally, I completed my final Dialgue on the Danger of a Single Story, which you can find here:


bottom of page